top of page

Photo shoot with couples

I recently had the great pleasure and opportunity to do a photoshoot with my best friend and her boyfriend. I learned a few lessons from the shoot. The first is to always plan your lighting. Due to scheduling conflicts, we weren't able to start the shoot until mid-afternoon. One of my biggest challeges was keeping the lighting in check to avoid washing out the photo with all of the light.

My other lesson was that pictures that aren't posed, especially with couples, are typically the best photos you can get. While I did like the posed photos we captured, my favorites were the photos I shot in between poses. These pictures were more lighthearted, intimate and natural and really captured the feel of closeness and intimacy I was looking for! Always look for good photo opportunity as sometimes they are hiding when the camera is down.

And lastly, keep the background simple when capturing couples. I preferred keeping a complex background behind London in the single pictures, but when I added in Tim, I wanted the focus to be on them and not a distracting background. The intimate feeling was lost when the background was bright and eye-catching.

Book with me for September! I am booking for Saturdays and Sundays, and I am running a special on duo photoshoots 50% off the listed price! Book online or shoot an email to booking@shawnik@gmail.com


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page